Prof. John D. Denstedt πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦


Professor, Department of Surgery, Division of Urology, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry,
Western University
President of the Endourological Society.
In July 2002 he assumed the role of Chair and Chief of the Department of Surgery at Western University and served in this role for 14 years. Dr. Denstedt is a Past Chair of the Canadian Association of Surgical Chairs and has served on the American Urological Association Board of Directors. He completed a 10 year term as Treasurer of the Endourological Society in 2018. He has been a Past President of the Northeastern Section of the AUA.

While maintaining an active clinical practice, Dr. Denstedt is an internationally renowned scholar in urology with career accomplishments encompassing over 260 published papers and book chapters, more than 350 guest professorships in 60 countries and numerous honours and awards including being the first Canadian to have won the Gold Cystoscope Award from the American Urological Association in 1998. In 2019 he was awarded the Karl Storz Lifetime Achievement Award from the Endourological Society and in 2024 will receive the Ramon Guiteras award, the top honour bestowed by the American Urological Association. Dr. Denstedt has served on the Editorial Board of eight major journals in Urology and is the immediate past Executive Editor of the Journal of Endourology. He is the immediate past Secretary of the American Urological Association and is the first Canadian to hold this prestigious position since the founding of the organization in 1902.